Composition of the Board of Administration

Management Body of Samaria National Park is located in Chania and run by 11-member Board of Directors (BoD) consisting of:
  • The Chairman of the Board, appointed by the Minister PE.K.A. and includes representatives of:
  • Ministry of Environment,Energy and Climate Change
  • Ministry of Rural Development and Food
  • Ministry of Development
  • Decentralized Administration of Crete
  • Region of Crete
  • Chania Prefecture
  • Municipality of Sfakia
  • municipality Platanias
  • NGOs
  • Two Scientists
The current Board of Directors was appointed by No. 20998/21-12-2009 Decision of the Minister P.E.K.A. (YODD 538/29-12-2009) the Minister PE.K.A as amended under No. 46450 / 27.10.2010 (YODD 361/05-11-2010) , 23492/15-06-2011 (193/ΥΟΔΔ/16-06-2011),48682/23-12-11(487/ΥΟΔΔ/30-12-2011), 26161/21-06-13 (329/ΥΟΔΔ/10-07-13) and 9884/29-05-14 (343/ΥΟΔΔ/13-06-14)  Decision of the Ministry P.E.K.A.
Share This on...
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on tumblr

Press Release Friday 20-05-2022

May 21st is the European Natura 2000 Network Day. It aims to make European citizens more aware of the natural riches the Natura 2000 network holds, of the conservation work they carry out and of the benefits brought by the protected nature to people and to our planet. In this framework, the Natural Environment & Climate Change Agency and the Management Unit of Samaria National Park and Protected Areas of Western Crete announce that on Saturday 21st of May 2022, the entry to the National Park of Samaria will be without an entrance fee. Visiting hours remain the same.